faculties » faculty-of-clinical-sciences

Faculty of Clinical Medicine

Prof AKHATOR, AFEYODION – Dean of Faculty

About Faculty

Welcome! The Faculty of Clinical Medicine, domiciled in The College of Health Sciences, started in 2001 with the late Prof. A.E. Jarekre as its founding dean. The faculty operates in 3 main sites, The college building in Abraka, The Delta State University Teaching Hospital, Oghara and the Central hospital, Warri. It also operates 5 minor sites for its COBES program, namely: Health centers located at Ovu, Ebede, Jesse, Ikiagbodo and Emevor. The faculty is made up of 13 departments, namely anesthesia, chemical pathology, community medicine, family medicine, hematology, medical microbiology, internal medicine, mental health/pyschiatry, morbid anatomy/histopathology, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, radiology and surgery. The Faculty is tasked with training undergraduate medical students and presently has graduated 11 sets of medical doctors. The present dean of the faculty is Prof. Afeyodion Akhator


Family Medicine
Chemical Pathology
Community Medicine
Hematology and Blood Transfusion
Mental Health/Psychiatry
Morbid Anatomy
Obstetrics and Gynecology
Pediatrics and Children Health
Medical Microbiology